Follow

What happens when I send a deep link?

Below we have listed the various flows for the user when a deep link is clicked and they have the app installed (and are online!).

If the user has already downloaded the edition*, what happens?

  • If the user clicks on the notification or URL
  • The app will launch
  • They are taken straight to that article.

If your content is free, but hasn't been downloaded, what happens when you deep link to an article?

  • If the user clicks on the notification or URL
  • The app will launch
  • Synopsis/loading screen will show while the edition begins to download
  • Once the article is downloaded, they are taken to it.

If your content is paid for, and hasn't been downloaded, what happens when you deep link to an article? 

The flow will depend on if your user is logged in and has access to that edition or not.

If the user is logged in (and has access to that edition)...

  • The user clicks on the notification or URL
  • The app will launch
  • Synopsis/loading screen will show while the edition begins to download
  • Once the article is downloaded, they are taken to it.

If the user is logged in (and does not have access to that edition)...

  • The user clicks on the notification or URL
  • The app will launch
  • Synopsis/loading screen will show while the edition begins to download
  • They will be taken to the synopsis page where they can purchase the edition (if available).

If the user is not logged in...

  • The user clicks on the notification or URL
  • The app will launch
  • They will be taken to the synopsis page where they can purchase the edition (if available) or log in.

*Based on there being no content updates to that edition.

Tested on PP 1.12.0

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk